Republic Day: 23 tableaux to roll down on Kartavya Path to showcase India’s cultural diversity, economic progress

The colourful display of tableaux, a group of motionless figures representing a story from history or culture, adds festive air to the occasion of the Republic Day. Showcasing

India’s rich cultural heritage, economic progress and mighty security power, 17 states and Union Territories will roll down their tableaux on the Kartavya Path during the Republic

Day parade on January 26. The Defence Ministry said in the statement, “Twenty-three tableaux, 17 from states and Union Territories and six from various ministries and

departments, will be displayed, depicting the nation’s rich cultural heritage, economic progress and strong internal and external security.” These 17 states include:

Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, West Bengal, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, Dadar Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Gujarat, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jharkhand,

Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala. ALSO READ | Republic Days around the world Moreover, six tableaux from the Ministry of Culture,

Ministry of Home Affairs (Central Armed Police Forces), Ministry of Home Affairs (Narcotics Control Bureau), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (Central Public Works

Department), Ministry of Tribal Affairs and Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare (Indian Council Agriculture Research) will also be displayed. They will showcase the

works as well as achievements which have taken place in the last few years. The selection of states/Union Territories has been done on a zonal basis. The regions have

been divided into six zone namely– Northern Zone, Central Zone, Eastern Zone, Western Zone, Southern Zone and North Eastern Zone.